Minutes of Annual Council Meeting held in the Mtek Building, Knockaconny, Armagh Road, Monaghan on Monday 18th June, 2012 at 10.00 a.m.

Chair: Cllr S. Coyle Mayor (Outgoing Mayor).

Present: Cllrs. Bannigan, Carthy, Carville, Conlon, Connolly, Coyle, Gallagher, Keelan, Maxwell, McElvaney, B. McKenna, McPhillips, Murray, O'Brien, O'Hanlon, P. Treanor and S. Treanor.

Mr. D. Fallon, A/County Manager, Mr. P. Clifford, Mr. A. King, Mr. D. Treanor, Directors of Service, Mr. J. Murray, Head of Finance, Ms. R. McManus, SEO, Mr. A. Hughes, Senior Planner and Ms. C. Thornton, Meetings Administrator.

The outgoing Mayor, Cllr Coyle referred to the some of the highlights of his year in office. He thanked the Members of the Council for their co-operation and assistance during the year. He also thanked the A/County Manager, the Management Team, the staff of Corporate Affairs and the Media.

In conclusion, he paid tribute to the Deputy Mayor, Cllr Murray, who had acted as Mayor on a number of occasions, and had undertaken the role very effectively.

All Members paid tribute to Cllr Coyle for the professional and dignified way in which he had undertaken the duties of Mayor over the past twelve months.

Mr. D. Fallon, A/County Manager joined in the sentiments expressed to the outgoing Mayor. He acknowledged the significant contribution that Cllr Coyle had made while in the office of Mayor.

1. <u>Election of Mayor</u>:

Cllr Coyle sought nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cllr Bannigan proposed Cllr McPhillilps seconded that Cllr Hugh McElvaney be nominated for the position of Mayor of County Monaghan.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr McElvaney was declared elected as Mayor.

Cllr McElvaney then assumed the position of Mayor. He thanked his proposer and seconder and the members for supporting him in his election to the position of Mayor. He paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor and Deputy Mayor for their dedication and commitment during the past year. He outlined his objectives for the coming year. All members congratulated Cllr McElvaney on his election as Mayor and wished him success during his term of office.

2. <u>Election of Deputy Mayor</u>:

The Mayor sought nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cllr Carthy proposed, Cllr B. McKenna seconded that Cllr Noel Keelan be nominated for the position of Deputy Mayor.

As there was no other nomination for this position the Mayor declared Cllr Keelan elected as Deputy Mayor and congratulated him on his election.

Cllr Keelan thanked his proposer and seconder and the members for electing him to the position of Deputy Mayor. He said he looked forward to working with the Mayor McElvaney and assured him of his support through out the year. He also paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor and Deputy Mayor for their hard work during the year.

All members congratulated Cllr Keelan on his election as Deputy Mayor.

The County Manager joined in the congratulations to Mayor McElvaney and Deputy Mayor Keelan and wished them both success in the year ahead.

3. <u>Election of Chairperson of Monaghan County Development Board</u>:

Cllr S. Treanor proposed, Cllr Carville seconded that Cllr Paudge Connolly be elected Chairperson of Monaghan County Development Board.

As there was no other nomination for this position the Mayor declared Cllr Connolly elected as Chairperson of Monaghan County Development Board and congratulated him on his election.

Cllr Connolly thanked his proposer and seconder and the other members for supporting his election to this position.

The Members congratulated Cllr Connolly on his election and paid tribute to the outgoing Chairperson – Cllr P. Treanor.

4. Election of Chairs to the following SPC's

(i) Planning and Economic Development Strategic Policy Committee.

Cllr Carville proposed, Cllr Murray seconded that Cllr Owen Bannigan replace Cllr David Maxwell as Chair of the Planning and Economic Development Strategic Policy Committee.

As there were no other proposals, the Mayor declared Cllr Bannigan elected as Chairperson of the Planning and Economic Development Strategic Policy Committee.

(ii) Social, Cultural, Community & Voluntary SPC

Cllr Coyle proposed, Cllr Gallagher seconded that Cllr John O'Brien replace Cllr Gallagher as Chair of the Social, Cultural, Community & Voluntary Strategic Policy Committee.

The Meetings Administrator advised that in order for this election to take place it was necessary for Cllrs Gallagher and O'Brien to exchange membership of their existing SPC's.

On the proposal of Cllr Coyle, seconded by Cllr O'Hanlon it was agreed that Cllr R. Gallagher be nominated to the Environment and Infrastructure SPC and that Cllr John O'Brien be nominated to the Social, Cultural Community and Voluntary SPC.

As there were no other proposals, the Mayor declared Cllr O'Brien elected as Chairperson of the Social, Cultural, Community & Voluntary Strategic Policy Committee.

5. Nomination of three Members to the Monaghan CDB Peace III Peace and Reconciliation Partnership Board.

On the proposal of Cllr Conlon, seconded by Cllr P. Treanor it was agreed that Cllr B. McKenna be nominated to the Monaghan CDB Peace III Peace and Reconciliation Partnership Board.

On the proposal of Cllr Carville, seconded by Cllr Murray it was agreed that Cllr Bannigan be nominated to the Monaghan CDB Peace III Peace and Reconciliation Partnership Board.

On the proposal of Cllr Gallagher, seconded by Cllr Coyle it was agreed that Cllr O'Brien be nominated to the Monaghan CDB Peace III Peace and Reconciliation Partnership Board.

The Mayor declared Cllrs Brian McKenna, Owen Bannigan and John O'Brien elected as the Council's nominees to the Monaghan CDB Peace III Peace and Reconciliation Partnership Board.

6. Nomination of one member to the Social Inclusion Measures Group:

On the proposal of Cllr O'Brien, seconded by Cllr Gallagher, it was agreed that Cllr Coyle be nominated to the Social Inclusion Measures Group.

7. Nomination of one member to the Clones Erne East/Blackwater (CEEB) Regeneration Project Steering Committee

On the proposal of Cllr B. McKenna, seconded by Cllr Keelan it was agreed that Cllr P. Treanor be nominated to the Clones Erne East/Blackwater (CEEB) Regeneration Project Steering Committee.

Change in Council representation on the Border Midlands and Western Regional Assembly.

On the proposal of Cllr Murray, seconded by Cllr Maxwell, it was agreed that Cllr Carville replace Cllr Bannigan on the Border Midlands and Western Regional Assembly.

This concluded the business of the annual meeting.