Monaghan Town Council Comhairle Baile Mhuineacháin

Minutes of first Statutory Meeting of Monaghan Town Council held on Monday 15th June 2009 at 5.00pm in the Council Chamber of Monaghan Town Council, Town Hall, 1 Dublin Street, Monaghan.

Present: Cllrs. Mary Carroll, Seán Conlon, Robbie Gallagher, Thomas Hagan, David

Maxwell, Paul McGeown, Donal Sherry, Seamus Treanor and Pádraigín Uí

Mhurchadha.

In Attendance: Declan Nelson, County Manager, Gareth Mc Mahon, Town Engineer, Marie

Deighan, Town Clerk and Sinead Mc Cann, Staff Officer.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach

In accordance with paragraph 4(1) of Schedule 10 of the Local Government Act 2001 the Town Clerk read the names of the persons duly elected as Members of Monaghan Town Council at the Local Elections held on Friday 5th June 2009. Marie Deighan then proceeded to call for proposals for election of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Séan Conlon was proposed by Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha and seconded by Cllr Donal Sherry. There, been no further proposals for the office of Cathaoirleach Cllr Séan Conlon was deemed elected Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Conlon took the chair. Cllr Conlon stated that he was delighted to accept the position of Cathaoirleach and that there had been agreement among all Members to rotate the chair in the following order of groupings – Sinn Féin (Year 1), Fianna Fáil (Year 2), Fine Gael (Year 3), Non-Party (Year 4), Sinn Féin (Year 5).

2. Election of Leas-Cathaoirleach

Cllr Robbie Gallagher was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Thomas Hagan. There, be no further proposals for the office of Leas-Cathaoirleach Cllr Robbie Gallagher was deemed elected Leas-Cathaoirleach.

It was noted that agreement had been reached between the Members that the position of Leas Cathaoirleach would rotate among the Members in the following order of groupings – Fianna Fáil (Year 1), Fine Gael (Year 2), Non-Party (Year 3), Sinn Féin (Year 4), Fine Gael (Year 5).

Cllr Robbie Gallagher thanked the Members for appointing him to the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

3. Election of two delegates to the Association of Municipal Authorities of Ireland.

Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha was proposed by Cllr Seán Conlon and seconded by Cllr Donal Sherry.

Cllr David Maxwell was proposed by Cllr Mary Carroll and seconded by Cllr Thomas Hagan.

4. Election of one nominee to the County Development Board

It was noted that a nominee from each Town Council in the County is required to go forward to a group of five who would then elect one Member to represent the five Town Councils on the County Development Board. On the proposal of Cllr David Maxwell seconded by Cllr Mary Carroll it was agreed to contact the Community and Enterprise Section of Monaghan County Council to enquire if each nominated Town Council Member could serve a years membership on the County Development Board.

Cllr Seamus Treanor was proposed by Cllr Mary Carroll and seconded by Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha.

5. <u>Election of one nominee to the Monaghan Integrated Development Board</u>

Cllr. Seán Conlon was proposed by Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha and seconded by Cllr David Maxwell.

6. Election of two delegates to County Monaghan V.E.C.

The Members noted correspondence received from the V.E.C. in relation to the election of delegates.

Cllr Mary Carroll was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Donal Sherry. Cllr Paul McGeown was proposed by Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha and seconded by Cllr Donal Sherry.

7. <u>Election of Representative to Irish Public Bodies Mutual Insurances Ltd.</u>

It was agreed that a representative to Irish Public Bodies Mutual Insurances Ltd will come from the Fine Gael grouping and on the proposal of Cllr Mary Carroll seconded by Cllr David Maxwell it was agreed to defer the matter until the next meeting of the Town Council.

8. Election of Budget Sub-Committee – (4) Members

It was agreed to increase the membership from three to four on the sub-committees of the Town Council to accommodate all the groupings of the Council.

Cllr David Maxwell was proposed by Cllr Mary Carroll and seconded by Cllr Thomas Hagan. Cllr Donal Sherry was proposed by Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha and seconded by Cllr Paul McGeown.

Cllr Seamus Treanor was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Seán Conlon. Cllr Robbie Gallagher was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Mary Carroll.

9. Election of Planning Sub-Committee – (4) Members

Cllr Mary Carroll was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Thomas Hagan. Cllr Seán Conlon was proposed by Cllr Paul McGeown and seconded by Cllr Mary Carroll. Cllr Seamus Treanor was proposed by Cllr Mary Carroll and seconded by Cllr David Maxwell. Cllr Robbie Gallagher was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Seán Conlon.

10. Election of Housing Sub-Committee – (4) Members

Cllr Thomas Hagan was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Mary Carroll. Cllr Pádraigín Uí Mhurchadha was proposed by Cllr Seán Conlon and seconded by Cllr Donal Sherry.

Cllr Seamus Treanor was proposed by Cllr Seán Conlon and seconded by Cllr David Maxwell. Cllr Robbie Gallagher was proposed by Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Thomas Hagan.

11. Election of Town Twinning Sub-Committee

On the proposal of Cllr Seán Conlon seconded by Cllr David Maxwell it was agreed to suspend the Town Twinning Sub-Committee for a period of twelve months as a result of the current economic downturn. It was agreed to review the matter at the next Annual General Meeting of Monaghan Town Council.

12. Election of Members to witness the opening of Tenders

It was agreed by the Members that, as in the past, the Members of the Budget Sub-Committee of the Town Council would witness the opening of Tenders.

13. Election of Members to witness the affixing of Official Seal

On the proposal of Cllr David Maxwell and seconded by Cllr Paul McGeown it was agreed that the Cathaoirleach and the Leas-Cathaoirleach be appointed to witness the affixing of the official seal.

14. Election of Members to witness Monaghan Leisure Complex Management Committee

The Members agreed to submit names of the above committee to the Town Clerk.

The Cathaoirleach Cllr Séan Conlon congratulated all the Members who were re-elected to the Council and the three new Members, i.e. Cllrs Hagan, Treanor and McGeown. He paid tribute to the two outgoing Members, Cllr Sheila Connolly and Cllr. Malachy Toal who were unsuccessful in their re-election.

Declan Nelson, County Manager congratulated all Members of the Town Council and looked forward to a co-operative and positive five years ahead. He commiserated with the two out-going Councillors who were unsuccessful in their re-election. He thanked the staff for the efficient manner in which the recent election count was carried out and thanked the Press for their comprehensive reports.

1	1		
All Members of	the Council concurred with	the above sentiments.	

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Dated this the 20th day of July 2009

Cathaoirleach	