Minutes of Annual Meeting of Monaghan County Council held in the Council Chamber, Mtek Building, Armagh Road, Monaghan on Monday 18 June, 2018 at 10.00 a.m.

Chair: Cllr C. Bennett, Cathaoirleach

Present: Cllrs. Aughey, Campbell, Conlon, Connolly, Coyle, Crowe, Gilliland, Humphreys

Keelan, Maxwell, McElvaney, B. McKenna, McNally, O'Hanlon, P. Treanor and S.

Treanor.

Mr. J. Murray, Head of Finance, Ms. P. Monahan, A/Director of Services and Ms. C.

Thornton, Meetings Administrator.

Apology: Cllr C. Carthy, Mr. E. O'Sullivan, Chief Executive, Mr. A. King and Mr. P. Clifford,

Directors of Services

1. Presentation from the HSE Ambulance Service:

The Cathaoirleach welcomed William Merriman, Chief Ambulance Officer and Tom Horwell, Asst Chief Ambulance Officer. She complimented the work of the Ambulance Service personnel and the professional way they deal with the difficult situations they meet on a daily basis. She then invited them to address the members.

Mr. Horwell gave a detailed presentation to the Council during which he outlined the structure of the Ambulance Service covering the Cavan Monaghan region. He outlined the challenges facing the service — a changing population demographic; increasing demand for service; changing hospital and GP terrain, a rural population and the public expectation. He referred to a CAWT funded Community Paramedic project which is being piloted in the Clones Town area under the guidance of Dr. Seamus Clarke.

Following the presentation, Mr. Merriman and Mr. Horwell responded to questions from the Councillors. They confirmed that six additional paramedics were being assigned to Monaghan in the near future. There has been significant investment in the ambulance fleet in 2017 and 2018 – the oldest vehicle is a 141 ambulance and should be taken out of service soon.

Responding to queries from members about the siting of an ambulance in Emyvale during construction work on the N2 close to the village, Mr. Merriman stated that it was not a simple matter to locate an ambulance in Emyvale he would have to find a premises, relocate staff/crew etc. He stated that it was not a significant issue at this stage as the road construction project was in the very early stages and there is a lot of preliminary work involved prior to the closing of the road. Ambulance control staff had been in contact with the Contractor and had exchanged contact details. However, if it becomes a significant issue in the future he stated he review the matter then.

On the proposal of ClIr O'Hanlon, seconded by ClIr Maxwell, it was agreed that where any future major road works are proposed that the Emergency Services and the Gardai are notified in advance.

Mr. Merriman and Mr. Horwell thanked the members for the opportunity to address them.

The Cathaoirleach thanked both gentlemen for a very informative presentation and discussion and they withdrew from the meeting room.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr C. Bennett recalled the highlights of her year in office. She stated that it had been a great honour for her to serve as Cathaoirleach for the past year. She thanked the Leas-Chathaoirleach, Cllr A. Campbell; her Councillor colleagues; the Sinn Fein Party, the Management and Staff of the Council, staff from the Corporate Affairs Section and her family for their support and assistance during her term as Cathaoirleach. She also thanked the local media for their reporting of Council meetings.

All members joined in paying tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach for the fair, efficient and timely manner in which she had conducted the Council meetings during the year.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach:

Cllr Bennett sought nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr A. Campbell proposed, Cllr S. Gilliland seconded, that Cllr David Maxwell be nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach of County Monaghan for the year 2018/2019.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr Maxwell was declared elected as Cathaoirleach

Cllr Maxwell then took up the position of Cathaoirleach. He thanked his proposer and seconder and his party colleagues for giving him this opportunity and the elected members for supporting his election. He paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr Bennett and the Leas-Chathaoirleach, Cllr A. Campbell, for their dedication and commitment during the past year. He then outlined his objectives for the coming year.

All members congratulated Cllr Maxwell on his election as Cathaoirleach and wished him success during his term of office.

2. Election of Leas Chathaoirleach:

Cllr Maxwell sought nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach.

Cllr Keelan proposed, Cllr Crowe seconded that Cllr Colm Carthy be nominated for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach for the year 2018/2019.

As there was no other nomination for this position the Cathaoirleach declared Cllr Carthy elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach and congratulated him on his election.

Cllr Carthy was not present at the meeting and had given his apologies at the June Council meeting.

Mr. J. Murray, Head of Finance joined in the congratulations to the Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach and wished them both success in the year ahead and assured them of the support of the Management Team and Staff. He also thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach for the way in which they had undertaken the duties of their respective roles during the past year.

Electoral Area Boundary Commission Report:

A number of members referred to the release of the Electoral Area Boundary Commission No. 1 Report 2018, which had been published on 14 June. The report proposed the following changes:

- The District Electoral Division (DED) of Scotstown be moved from the Ballybay-Clones Electoral Area to the Monaghan Electoral Area
- The DED of Sheskin be moved from the Ballybay-Clones Electoral Area to the Monaghan Electoral Area
- The DED of Laragh be moved from the Carrickmacross-Castleblayney electoral area to the Ballybay-Clones Electoral Area.
- The number of members in the Ballybay-Clones Electoral Area to be reduced by one to five members.
- The number of members in the Monaghan Electoral Area to be increased by one to seven members.

A discussion took place during which a number of members expressed their concern and disappointment at the proposed changes and particularly the recommendation to reduce the number of members in the Ballybay Clones Electoral Area from six to five.

It was agreed that a letter would issue to the Boundary Commission requesting that the structure that is currently in place in County Monaghan would remain ie 3 Municipal Districts with six members in each MD.

Vote of Sympathy:

It was agreed that a vote of sympathy would be extended to Cllr H. McElvaney on the recent death of his sister Margaret McMahon, RIP.

The meeting then concluded.

igned:	Cathaoirleach	Mostings Administrator
	Cathaoirteach	Meetings Administrator
Date:		