Minutes of Annual Meeting of Monaghan County Council held in the Garage Theatre, Armagh Road, Monaghan, on Monday 15<sup>th</sup> June, 2020 following the June Council meeting.

- Chair: Cllr S. Coyle, Cathaoirleach
- **Present:** Cllrs. Aughey, Bennett, Campbell, Carthy, Conlon, Connolly (remotely via MS Teams), Gilliland, Keelan, Maxwell, McCooey, McKenna, O'Hanlon, P. Treanor, S. Treanor, R. Truell.

Mr. E. O'Sullivan, Chief Executive, Mr. A. King, Mr. P. Clifford, Ms. P. Monahan, Directors of Services, Mr. C. Flynn, A/Director of Service, Mr. J. Murray, Head of Finance, Ms. M. McGarvey, Senior Staff Officer and Ms. C. Thornton, Meetings Administrator.

Apology: Cllr Kerr-Conlon

At the outset, ClIr S. Coyle thanked his party colleagues for nominating him for the position of Cathaoirleach following the local elections and to the elected members for electing him to such a prestigious role. He was honoured to have served the people of the county over the past year. He thanked the Leas Chathaoirleach, ClIr S. Treanor for deputising for him on occasions. He also thanked the Chief Executive, Management Team and the staff of the Council for their hard work and the courtesy shown to him during his term in office. He also thanked the local media and he wished the new incumbent well in the year ahead.

Cllr S. Treanor responded to Cllr Coyle's comments and commended him for his service as Cathaoirleach.

Mr. E. O'Sullivan, Chief Executive also thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach for the way in which they had undertaken the duties of their respective roles during the past year.

## 1. Election of Cathaoirleach of Monaghan County Council.

Cllr Coyle sought nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Keelan proposed, Cllr McKenna seconded, that Cllr Colm Carthy be nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach of County Monaghan for the year 2020/2021.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr Carthy was declared elected as Cathaoirleach

Cllr Carthy then took up the position of Cathaoirleach. He thanked his proposer and seconder and his party colleagues for giving him this opportunity and the elected members for supporting his election. He paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr Coyle and the Leas-Chathaoirleach, Cllr S. Treanor, for their dedication and commitment during the past year. He then outlined his objectives for the coming year.

All members congratulated Cllr Carthy on his election as Cathaoirleach and wished him success during his term of office.

## 2. Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach of Monaghan County Council.

Cllr Carthy sought nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach.

*Cllr Gilliland proposed, Cllr Maxwell seconded that Cllr Richard Truell be nominated for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach for the year 2020/2021.* 

As there was no other nomination for this position the Cathaoirleach declared Cllr Truell elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach and congratulated him on his election. All members joined in the congratulations to Cllr Truell. Cllr Truell thanked his proposer and seconder and the elected members for giving him the opportunity to serve as Leas Chathaoirleach in the year ahead and looked forward to working with the Cathaoirleach and Executive in the year ahead.

All members congratulated Cllr Truell on his election as Leas-Chathaoirleach and wished him success during his term of office.

The Chief Executive joined in the congratulations to the Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach and wished them both success in the year ahead and assured them of the support of the Management Team and Staff.

The meeting then concluded.

Signed: \_\_\_\_

Cathaoirleach

Meetings Administrator

Date: \_\_\_\_\_