Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Monaghan County Council held in the Council Chamber, Mtek Building, Armagh Road, Monaghan on Monday, 20 June 2022 at 3.00 pm.

Chair: Cllr A. Campbell, Cathaoirleach

Present: Cllrs. Bennett, Carthy, Conlon, Connolly, Coyle, Gilliland, Keelan, Maxwell, McCooey,

McElvaney, McKenna, O'Hanlon, P. Treanor, R. Truell.

Apologies: Cllrs S. Treanor, R. Aughey

Mr. P Clifford, Deputy Chief Executive, Ms. P. Monahan, Director of Services, Mr. C. Flynn, Ms N. Woods, Ms O McConnon; A/Director of Services, Ms. M. McGarvey,

Meetings Administrator and Ms L. Brannigan, Senior Staff Officer.

Outgoing Cathaoirleach's address:

Cllr Aidan Campbell, outgoing Cathaoirleach addressed all present. He recalled his year in office and outlined the main highlights and positives of that time, despite it being a difficult year due to transitioning out of Covid 19. He remembered all those who had passed away during the year. He thanked the elected members for their support throughout the year and his party colleagues in Fine Gael for giving him the opportunity to serve as Cathaoirleach. He also paid tribute to Mary Kerr Conlon for her sterling service over the past 25 years to the people of Carrickmacross and beyond. He wished her well and good luck in her retirement. He thanked the Leas Chathaoirleach, Cllr McElvaney for deputising for him on occasions. He paid tribute to and thanked the Deputy Chief Executive, Management Team and the staff of the Council for their professional manner and courtesy shown to him during his term in office and also the local media for their impartial reporting of Council meetings. He wished Chief Executive Eamonn O'Sullivan well in his recovery. He acknowledged the important work of the tidy towns committees. He especially thanked his wife Alicia, sons Leon and James, and his brothers and sisters for their loyal support during the past year. He concluded by saying that the role of Cathaoirleach of Monaghan County Council had been a privilege, honour and pleasure.

All members commended ClIr Campbell for the way he had undertaken the role of Cathaoirleach, for the courtesy and respect shown to his fellow members and the efficient, fair and impartial way he had conducted Council meetings. Members also commended ClIr McElvaney for his year as Leas Cathaoirleach.

Mr P. Clifford, Deputy Chief Executive also thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach for the way in which they had undertaken the duties of their respective roles during the past year.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach of County Monaghan

Cllr Campbell sought nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr B McKenna proposed, Cllr C. Bennett seconded, that Cllr Sean Conlon be nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach of County Monaghan for the year 2022/2023.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr Conlon was declared elected as Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Conlon then took up the position of Cathaoirleach. He thanked his Sinn Féin colleagues for nominating him to the esteemed role of Cathaoirleach and thanked his fellow members for supporting the proposition. He paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr Campbell and the Leas-Chathaoirleach, Cllr McElvaney, for their dedication and commitment during the past year. He then outlined his objectives for the coming year and appealed to his fellow members to remain a strong and united collective force in the year ahead to lobby for positive change and address a number of priority issues.

All members congratulated Cllr Conlon on his election as Cathaoirleach and wished him success during his term of office.

2. Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach of Monaghan County Council.

The meeting then concluded.

Cllr Conlon sought nominations for the position of Leas-Chathaoirleach.

Cllr PJ O'Hanlon proposed, Cllr Coyle seconded that Cllr Aofie McCooey be nominated for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach for the year 2022/2023.

As there was no other nomination for this position the Cathaoirleach declared Cllr McCooey elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach and congratulated her on her election.

All members joined in the congratulations to ClIr McCooey. ClIr McCooey was overwhelmed by the nomination and thanked her party colleagues and the elected members for giving her the opportunity to serve as Leas Chathaoirleach and looked forward to working with the Cathaoirleach and the Executive in the year ahead.

All members congratulated Cllr McCooey on her election as Leas-Chathaoirleach and wished her success during her term of office.

The Deputy Chief Executive joined in the congratulations to the newly elected Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach and wished them both success in the year ahead and assured them of the support of the Management Team and Staff.

ianod:	
gned: Cathaoirleach	Meetings Administrator
ate:	