monaghanfireserviceMonaghan Fire & Civil Protection is a service provided by Monaghan County Council. The fire authority is a retained fire service and it is responsible for the delivery of fire services to the entire county 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Not only is it responsible for in the extinguishment of fires within the county, but it also responds to road traffic collisions, Hazard material incidents, and Special Services such as flooding and oil spillages. In the event of an emergency the primary role of Monaghan Fire & Civil Protection is to ensure life safety. It will ensure that danger areas are made safe in order to permit other agencies to undertake their recovery and rehabilitation operations.

Functional Area
Monaghan Fire & Civil Protection delivers a fire service to whole of County Monaghan an area of approximately 1,294 square kilometres. The fire service of Monaghan is divided into five (fire cover) areas. Each area is served by a retained Fire Station. These fire stations are located in the following towns;

  1. Ballybay
  2. Carrickmacross
  3. Castleblayney
  4. Clones
  5. Monaghan


Organisational setup
Monaghan Fire & Civil Protection has four broad areas of activity that are mutually supportive in the delivery of an integrated service to the public:

  • Fire Prevention
  • Fire/Emergency Operations
  • Major Emergency Planning
  • Building Control


The Fire/Emergency Operation Department has a staffing level of:

  • Chief Fire Officer
  • 2 Senior Assistant Chief Fire Officers
  • 1 Assistant Chief Fire Officer
  • 1 Executive Engineer (Fire Prevention)
  • 1 Assistant Engineer (Building Control)
  • 51 Firefighters
  • 3 Administrative staff