Monaghan County Council Notices 5th December 2019

Clones Renewal Scheme picks up Esteemed National Award

Monaghan County Council enjoyed success on Thursday evening (28th November) at the KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards at the Convention Centre in Dublin. The awards are endorsed by all relevant property professional institutes, representative bodies and State agencies, including Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland, Irish Planning Institute, Engineers Ireland, Society of Chartered Surveyors, Construction Industry Federation, Institute of Professional Auctioneers and Valuers, Industrial Development Authority, Dublin Institute of Technology, Office of Public Works and Enterprise Ireland.

Monaghan County Council beat of strong competition, including shortlisted Longford County Council to win the Excellence in Planning Award in the Public Sector.

Accepting the award on the night, Cllr. Pat Treanor, Municipal District Cathaoirleach said,

We are delighted to accept this award in recognition of the Council’s urban regeneration projects in Clones, a rural border town that has suffered from dereliction and decline. Construction has commenced on the project which will provide much needed housing within the town centre, providing 21 new homes and supporting the revitalisation of the town.

Máire Cullinan, Regeneration officer said,

The project has adopted the ‘town centre living first’ approach in addressing problems of rural town decline. The local authority with the strong support of the community, has actively used its powers under the Derelict Sites Act and with funding under Rebuilding Ireland to put life back into the town core in a sustainable compact way, and to build momentum within the community for other development and services.’

Funded €5.2m under Rebuilding Ireland, the Clones Renewal Scheme commenced building works in September and will see the delivery of 21 housing units at six locations on Fermanagh Street and Analore Street.

The scheme will deliver multiple positive impacts, including sustaining town population, improving the vibrancy/vitality of the town, along with renewed confidence and stimulating development opportunities on adjoining sites.

The other Property Industry Excellence category winners were: Cairn (Planning Private Sector), Carr, Cotter & Naessens Architects (Design Project Award), Rediscovery Centre (Energy Efficiency Award), JLL (Commercial Agency of the Year), ILIM (Property Investment/Fund Manager of the Year), joint winners Liberty Blue Estate Agents and McCabe Architects (Regional Excellence), Bam (Facilities Management), BidX1 (Prop Tech Innovation), John Paul Construction (Contractor of the Year), McCabe Architects (Community Benefit Award up to €1m investment), Dublin City Council (Community Benefit Award over €1m investment) and also taking the Overall Winner award.


Expressions of Interest


The Municipal District of Monaghan is seeking expressions of interest from landowners, within the District, who are seeking fill type material, typically soil and stone, from local engineering works, for the purposes of the improvement or development of land.

This project will be done in full compliance with the Waste Management Act 1996 (as amended) and the Planning and Development Act, 2000.

If interested, please submit the following information

  • Name, Address, Eircode, Telephone Number
  • Address of landholding with an Eircode
  • Any Planning Reference No on site

In confidence to Donal McElwain, Municipal District Co-Ordinator, Monaghan Municipal District, The Glen, Monaghan.

Or via email to

Subject matter “Infill”




Temporary Closing Of Roads

Monaghan County Council gives notice of its intention to close the following road in the Municipal District of Monaghan in County Monaghan:

Date of Closure – Monday 6th January 2020 to 31th January 2020


Times: 8am Monday to 5.30pm Friday (local access only)            


To Facilitate: Water Mains Rehabilitation Works on behalf of Irish Water


Road Closed:  L-52311 Barrack Hill/St   


Diversion Routes:    Via R185 Glaslough Road and Main Street.

Any interested person may lodge an objection to the closing of the above mentioned roads with the Head of Roads, Monaghan County Council, MTEK II Building, Knockaconny, Monaghan not later than Tuesday December 10th 2019.  Any objections must be clearly marked on envelope “Objection To Road Closure”.


This notice complies with the Roads Act 1993 (Section 75)

F. McEntee

Head of Roads

5th December  2019












The County Registrar will consider claims, including those relating to the addition or deletion to the Draft Register, at Revision Courts to be held on date as set out below.  Any person interested may appear and be heard either in person or by any other person on his/her behalf.



MONAGHAN COURTHOUSE, Church Square, Monaghan on Wednesday 11th December, 2019 at 2:30pm for the Electoral Divisions of:-

Anketell Grove, Annayalla, Bellanode, Bragan, Castleshane, Clontibret, Derrygorry, Emyvale, Enagh, Figullar, Glaslough, Killylough, Monaghan Rural, Monaghan Urban, Rackwallace, Shanmullagh, Tedavnet, Tehallan, Sheskin and Scotstown.


Aghabog, Anny, Ballybay Rural, Ballybay Urban, Bellatrain, Caddagh, Carrickatee, Clones, Clones Rural, Clones Urban, Cormeen, Corracharra, Creeve, Cremartin, Currin, Dawsongrove, Drum, Drumhillagh, Drummully, Drumsnat, Greagh, Killeevan, Killynenagh, Kilmore, Lisnaveane, Newbliss, Raferagh, St. Tierney, Tullycorbet and Laragh.


Ballymackney, Bocks, Broomfield, Carrickaslane, Carrickmacross Rural, Carrickmacross Urban, Castleblayney Rural, Castleblayney Urban, Church Hill, Crossalare, Donaghmoyne, Drumboory, Drumcarrow, Drumgurra, Enagh, Inishkeen, Kilmurry, Kiltybegs, Lough Fea and Mullyash.


Cathal Flynn

A/Director of Services

5th December, 2019