Monaghan County Council Notices 5th September 2019

Temporary Closing Of Roads

Monaghan County Council gives notice of its intention to close the following road in the Municipal District of Monaghan in County Monaghan:

Date of Closure                Saturday 28th September 

Times:                                  7.30am to 8.00pm

To Facilitate:                     The Taste of Monaghan Festival

 Road Closed:                    

LS5515 – Lower Mill Street between North Road and Church Square

R867 – From Market Street to the Diamond (including Church Square), Monaghan Town

Diversion Routes:

  • Traffic coming from the North via Glaslough Street, wishing to access the Clones Road (N 54), or the Cootehill Road (R188), or the Ballybay Road (R162), may do so via Dublin Street, Macartan Road
  • Traffic coming from the South, via Dawson Street, wishing to access Dublin Street, may do so via North Rd (NS 54)

Taxi Rank outside of Courthouse to be temporarily relocated to the North Road alongside the DV8 premises

Local and emergency services access will be catered for at all times.

Any interested person may lodge an objection to the closing of the above-mentioned roads with the Head of Roads, Monaghan County Council, MTEK II Building, Knockaconny, Monaghan not later than Tuesday 10th September.  Any objections must be clearly marked on envelope “Objection To Road Closure”.

This notice complies with the Roads Act 1993 (Section 75)


Head of Roads

5th September 2019



Local Elections (Disclosure of Donations and Expenditure) Act, 1999 as amended

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the above legislation, Statements of Donations and Elections Expenses at the local elections on 24th May 2019 have been received from all candidates who contested the Monaghan County Council elections, unless otherwise indicated below.  The statements are available for inspection during normal office hours at Monaghan County Council, Corporate Services Section, The Glen, Monaghan.

Name of candidates from whom a Statement of Election Expenses was not received –

James Mee (candidate in the Monaghan Local Electoral Area)

Cathal Flynn

Director of Corporate Services 

05 September 2019


Temporary Closing of Roads

Monaghan County Council gives notice to extend the following road closure in the Municipal District of Ballybay – Clones in County Monaghan:

Date & Time: –    From 6pm Friday September 6th 2019 to 6pm Friday September 20th 2019

(local access only)

To Facilitate:

Water Mains Rehabilitation Works on Behalf of Irish Water


Roads Closed: –

L-4200 in the townland of Tullynahinnera, Castleblayney, Co.Monaghan.


Diversion Route: –

Via R181 and L-4201


(Local Access and Emergency Vehicles will be catered for at all times).


This notice complies with the Roads Act 1993 (Section 75)

F. McEntee

Head of Roads

5th September 2019





Following the local elections held in May 2019 it is now necessary for Monaghan County Council to re-establish the Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs) which will continue to form an important part of the local government framework for the county.

The representational structure on each SPC is designed to bring together both elected members and people actively working with social, economic, cultural and environmental bodies to develop and review policies related to Council services.

At the September meeting the Council adopted a Draft Scheme for the establishment of four Strategic Policy Committees.  The Draft Scheme, which has been developed in accordance with guidelines issued by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government provides for the following committees:

(i)  SPC for Housing, Social and Cultural.

(ii)  SPC for Climate Change and Environment.

(iii)  SPC for Economic Development and Enterprise Support.

(iv)  SPC for Transport and Community.


Membership of the SPCs will comprise:

  • local elected members (to be nominated by Monaghan County Council).
  • Representatives from the Cultural/Community/Voluntary/Social Inclusion sectors to be nominated by Monaghan Public Participation Network.
  • The nominees from the other sectors – Tourism/Agriculture/Trade Union/Environment/Development/Construction/Business to be made by their respective national representative bodies.

The Draft SPC Scheme and Department Guidelines are now available for inspection at or at the offices of Monaghan County Council, during normal office hours.  Submissions on the draft scheme are now being sought and should be received by 5.00 p.m. on 3rd October 2019.

Submissions can be forwarded by post or email to the Administrative Officer, Corporate Services, Monaghan County Council, County Offices, The Glen, Monaghan (email –

Cathal Flynn,

Director of Corporate Services

5th September 2019