New Waste Management Planning Regions

Among the measures contained in “A Resource Opportunity – Waste Management Policy In Ireland” which will play an important role in the provision of effective and efficient delivery of waste management services is the reduction in the number of waste management planning regions from 10 to 3. The County and City Managers Association confirmed the composition of the three new Waste Management Planning Regions – which correspond with the regional structures, set out in the Government’s Action Programme for Effective Local Government – and ratified the Lead Authorities tasked with developing new plans for the three Waste Management Planning Regions.

The new Waste Management Planning Regions are as follows:


Lead Authority


Local Authorities:

Cavan, Donegal, Galway City, Galway County, Leitrim, Mayo,    Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo

Mayo County Council


Local Authorities:

Dublin City,  Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown, Fingal, Kildare, Laois,   Longford, Louth,  Meath, Offaly, South Dublin, Wicklow, Westmeath

Dublin City Council


Local Authorities:

Carlow, Clare, Cork City, Cork County, Kerry, Kilkenny, Limerick,   Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford

Tipperary-Limerick Consortium

In accordance with Section 22 of the Waste Management Act, 1996 and the Waste Management (Planning) Regulations, 1997, the Lead Authorities, as set out in the table above, gave notice of the intention to commence the preparation of New Regional Waste Management Plans on 10 October, 2013


Under Section 22 of the Waste Management Act 1996, as amended:

local authorities are required to make waste management plans in respect of their functional areas, and
the EPA is required to make a national hazardous waste management plan.

The statutory objective of these plans is to –

  • prevent or minimise the production and harmful nature of waste,
  • encourage and support the recovery of waste,
  • ensure that such waste as cannot be prevented or recovered is safely disposed of, and
  • address the need to give effect to the polluter pays principle, in relation to waste disposal.


Existing Local/Regional Waste Management Plans

Local authorities reviewed the existing 10 Regional Waste Management Plans by the end of 2012. It is evident from the plans that local authorities have been guided by the various policy statements on waste. In particular, the plans make provision for the development of an integrated waste management infrastructure, including;

  • “kerbside” collection of recyclable materials in urban areas;
  • “bring” facilities for recyclable materials in rural areas;
  • civic amenity sites and waste transfer stations;
  • biological treatment of “green” and organic household waste;
  • materials recovery facilities;
  • recycling capacity for construction and demolition waste
  • residual landfill requirements.
  • thermal treatment facilities

The country was divided into 10 regions for waste management purposes and the existing 10 waste management plans (external link) are available on the EPA website

Hazardous Waste

For more information on hazardous waste management plans visit the EPA website at