Built Heritage

1. News

Historic Structures Fund 2024 – Closing 26th January 2024.

Built Heritage Investment Scheme – Closing 26th January 2024


2. General Information

Our built heritage is an irreplaceable record which contributes to our understanding of both the present and the past. It is ours to enjoy, to enhance and to hand on to future generations.
There are many fine buildings in Co. Monaghan, ranging from grand country houses and churches to the everyday buildings within our towns and villages. These architectural and historical features are all significant sources of information about our past and form landmarks in our present surroundings creating areas of local character and distinctiveness.

Part IV of The Planning and Development Act 2000 deals with Architectural Heritage and each planning authority has a duty to protect structures or parts of such structures, which are of special interest. This is done by compiling and maintaining a Record of Protected Structures (RPS) for the area.

For queries relating to the Record of Protected Structures (RPS) for Co. Monaghan, Section 57 Declarations (RPS exempted development) and heritage grant schemes please contact builtheritage@monaghancoco.ie or tgourley@monaghancoco.ie

For queries relating to Development Management the Planning Officers are:-

Monaghan MD – Ben Clerkin (bclerkin@monaghancoco.ie)

Carrickmacross-Castleblayney MD – Brian McGeary (bmcgeary@monaghancoco.ie)

Ballybay-Clones MD – Aisling King McKenna for (amckenna3@monaghancoco.ie)

For queries relating to Enforcement please contact Darragh McAdam (dmcadam@monaghancoco.ie)

For more information contact:

Toirleach Gourley
Monaghan County Council
Planning Offices
1 Dublin Street
H18 X982

Telephone: 047 30532
Email: planning@monaghancoco.ie‌